In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fish- ing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument given here is flawed due to many reasons. The argument assumes that the survey can be trusted completely and draws conclusion from based on the survey. Since, the survey is not entirely true, the conclusion is rendered invalid.

First off, the survey does not mention whether it polled all of Mason City residents or just a few adventure-loving people. If it was the latter, then, the survey does not represent the entire city population and no conclusion can be drawn based on that. Even if the suvey had polled all of the city's residents, just because the respondants had mentioned water sports as their favorite recreational activity does not mean they will start actively using the Mason River for such activities once it is cleaned up. The respondants could have meant they they like to spectate water sports, but, not engage themselves in it directly. For example, many people love to watch soccer and they religiously follow their favorite teams. If a survey was conducted for the favorite sport in that region, it will be soccer, but, almost no one in this pool of respondants actually play soccer. Similarly, in the case of Mason City, it is possible that they like to watch water sports, but, not play it themselves. So, the government spending huge sums of money on cleaning the river might have no real impact on the water sports.

Secondly, the argument given here assumes that just because the governement cleans up the river, people are actually going to use it for water sports. The people did not complain that there was no recreational facility on the river, the complain was about the quality of the river and the river's smell. So, if the river is cleaned up, people will be happy that the city's river is clean, but, there is no indication from the people that they need the river to be cleaned up so that they can play water sports.

The argument can be made stronger if the survey is conducted for every household in the city asking very specifically whether the people would start using the river for watersports if it gets cleaned up; instead of the current survey which asks for their favorite watersport. Without results of such a survey, it is very difficult, if not impossible to draw a definitive conclusion.

Thus, it can be seen that the given argument is flawed in many levels and cannot be taken seriously for deciding on a major government policy like budget.