In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

The argument that stated that, the city government should invest the money for recreational activities to riverside in Mason city resident because the state has recently announced about a plan to clean up the Mason river is not entirely cogent, since, it ignores certain pivotal assumptions and the research is also incomplete as well.

First, the argument assumes that the Mason city residents favorites recreational activities are swimming, boating and fishing on the basis of survey. However, it is unwarranted because the argument did not mention about the reliability of the survey. Furthermore, it is not clear that how many people answers about the survey question and moreover it is not clear that the survey was taken for which groups of people in the state. It is also not mention that what types of option were given to choose for recreational activities and it may be taken for only riverside people which could not represent the overall Mason City residents.

Second, the argument never addresses what could be the major causes for the Mason river pollution. It may be because of haphazard maintaining of recreational activities by city park department. If within a year, a river may polluted so badly and have to start a clean up plan then we can clearly imagine the long term effect in the river natural condition if they invest more money for only recreational activities but not focus on river maintenance.

Finally, the argument omits the public sentiments towards river and its cleanliness. How can any one predict that the river would be in good condition after certain clean up program. It may be highly deteriorate because of recreational activities in the river. In addition, the argument did not give attention about the importance of river than recreational activities. If public were so attracted about the recreational activities than they would be definitely give attention about the river condition also. It is clear that, only certain group of people are interested to do recreational activities in the Mason river but not the whole state. Moreover, the argument did not mention about the data of public participation on recreational activities. With out clear data and evidence there is not any logic to request a city government to devote money in budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Thus, the argument is unsound. The evidence in support of the conclusion is not valid. Ultimately, the argument might have been buttressed by some other people, who will get benefit after the declaration of budget for Mason city recreational activities in Mason river.