"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it might be true that wearing helmet might cause bicycle riders to drive irresponsibly; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that number of bicycle accidents might have increased during past ten years, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefore, not strong enough to lead to encourage bicycle riders to do not care about wearing helmets.

The author mentions that today the number of bicyclists who wear helmet is nearly 80 percent compare to ten years ago which was 35 percent. However, the author does not provide any information about the total number of bicyclists which can make a different perspective. Imagine the total number of bicyclists was 100 ten years ago whereas that number is 200 today and the number of bicyclists who reported wearing helmets has increases from 35 percent to 80 percent now. As a result, the percentage of bicyclist who wear helmet has not increased because the ratio of total riders to riders who wear helmet is same for both comparisons.

In addition, the author implies that the number of bicycle accidents has increase 200 percent; however, the author does not bring explanations about these accidents. For example, a bicycle-related accident could happen because of a car driver's high speed which does not relate to wearing helmets. Moreover, bicycle lane width is important to be mentioned. For example, a bicyclist who do not have enough space to ride might get an accident regardless of wearing helmets. To strengthen his/her argument, the author needs to investigate about all other possible reasons for bicycle-related accidents.

The author indicates that the government should concentrate to educate people to ride carefully to reduce the number of bicycle accidents’ injuries. On the other hand, education about wearing helmet to is not that important to decrease accidents. However, the author does not bring any evidences about this suggestion. We do not know if there is any correlation between riders' recklessness and wearing helmets or not.

The author’s suggestion is persuasive when he or she gathers information about total number of current bicycle riders compared to ten years ago and the descriptions for bicycle-related accidents. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.