Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions The buildings were erected by two different construction companies Alpha and Zeta Even though the two buildings had identical floor pla

The memo from the vice president of a large,highly diversified company claims that for the next contemplated new building project ,approaching alpha construction company is better when compared to that of the Zeta construction company. As the argument does not examine the stated and unstated assumptions about comparison of two construction companies and their relationship with respect to the different locations where the new buildings are constructed, the passage lacks sufficient evidences to justify the claim.

The company has two new office buildings constructed at the regional headquarters of two different locations. We can assume that two different locations had varied tax rate on the materials required for the new building constructions. We can assume that the new building supervised by the Zeta construction company need to pay more in order to purchase the materials required for the construction of the building when compared with Alpa construction company. As two building have different locations, the tax on the materials and the cost rate of the materials might have varied the total expensive charge while building the new building. So, the cost rate and the tax per material may vary in different locations. We cannot conclude by stating Alpha building company is more convincing than Zeta in different locations.

The argument states that the Alpha construction company had stable workforce and little employee turnover , when compared with that of the Zeta company. But, the argument does not provide efficient informations to support the claim. We can also assume that the Alpa construction company was located in the more rural areas , where the people most likely work in the building construction. Those can be employees whose life mainly stand upon their income. So, we can consider the Alpha company had stable workforce.Where as ,we can assume that the Zeta company is located at more urban area where the workforces might be involved at multiple other tasks apart from the constructions and expect more employment turnover when compared to Alpha builders.So, deciding to prefer Alpha builders in the future construction projects could vary the workforce stability and turnover with respect to the location. Thus, the passage fails to provide more supportive evidences to state Why Alpha can be considered for building projects when compared to Zeta builders.

The argument state that the energy consumption of the Zeta building company has been higher compared to the Alpha company every year. So, we can assume that alpha company might be located in more urban area when compared to the Alpha company. There might be more employers in Zeta .As the increase in the employment rate might have increased the energy consumption every year. More the employers in the company, more electricity will be consumed each year. Thus, we cannot conclude that increased energy consumption in Zeta company might be the major reason to disclaim the builders while considering the next building.

To summarise, the argument fail to provide the convincing assumptions to state the importance of alpha building company while constructing the new building headquarters. There might be differences in the workforces and employers turnovers in different locations. Also the cost rate and tax per building materials vary in different locations. Such assumptions weakens the given argument.