"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state

traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the

commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members

of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but

as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential

neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last

year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving

them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was

implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen

considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in

Waymarsh."

Merely based on groundless evidence and doubtful assumption, the arguer arbitrary draws a conclusion that Waymarsh should take the same policy as Garville's to solve the traffic problem. To substantiate the conclusion, the arguer points out that a survey three years ago suggests that it used to cost 20 minutes in commuter while it takes about 40 minutes now. Furthermore, the arguer demonstrates that the policy in Garville works well by reward the people who share rides to work. Additionally, the arguer illustrates that people from Garville toll him that commuting times decreased. Plausible as it is, a further introspection reveals that it contains several logic flaws.

First, things will not remain the same as the time pass by, the survey three years ago can not always fit in the traffic problem. By that I mean, it is highly possible that the city was much smaller three years ago so people live close to their workplace and it took less time driving commuter than today. Moreover, people might perfer to choose the company which was closer before or the company offered their house near the company. However, due to the depress of the economy, there is no more such support to people.

Second, the arguer's recommendation relies on what might be a poor analogy between the problem in Waymarsh and Garville. To be more specific, the analogy falsely depends on the assumption that the traffic situation in both places are similar. Nonetheless, it is entirely possible that most people in Waymarsh use the public transportation to work and people in Garville prefer to drive their own car to work. Therefore, if government take the same policy, it will be less effective in Waymarsh to encourage sharing ride.

Third, the argument assumes that the nationwide statistics about the commuting time apply equally to the time which people told him. Yet that might not be the case, for a variety possible reasons. For example, the people move to a place which is closer to the company so it takes less time to work. Additionally, the people who have lower commuting time is just a little part in the city and large amount of people there is still suffering the trafic problem.

To put it in a nutshell, the arguer fails to confirm his claim because the evidences cited above cannot lend a effective support to what he maintains .