"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Granville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that people of Waymarsh have difficulty with traffics and roads and they are not able to take to their destination on time. So, the government should implement a similar policy like Garville and encourage people to share a ride because building new roads in Waymarsh is expensive and impossible. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that the Waymarsh should exactly keep track of neighboring city and encourage people to share a ride. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if follow the example of the nearby city could solve the problem in Waymarsh. One point that should be considered is that the author compares two different cities where the situation and conditions are totally different. For instance, maybe people in Garville do not have the problem with this policy. But there are no guarantee settlements in Waymarsh adopt to the policy easily and quickly. What if it does not resolve the problem successfully? I addition, maybe not too many people accept this policy in Waymarsh due to the fact that perhaps they like to ride their own personal cars.

The author also asserts that this policy has been implemented in Granville and it brought about myriads of advantages like Coupons of free gas, reduction of pollution, reduce the time of commuting and so forth. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author just hints at the policy during the last year. Indeed, there is a possibility that this policy fails during next years or perhaps after years, people prefer not to share a ride. Moreover, the author does not mention any information about the population that used this policy. In fact, maybe a fraction of people were proponents of this policy because they had not to commute a long distance for works.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author building new roads are expensive and it creates some problems regarding residential areas. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled evidence to support if constructions and improvement of infrastructures are impossible and hard to do. One point that should not go unnoticed is that not only in Waymarsh but also in all cities there are a great many unused fields. So, without interference with residential areas, these lands could be erected for new roads and buildings. Also, nowadays, with the development of economy and system of banks, the council of the city could rely on different loans provided by banks. So, in this case, the city could repel any obstacle or barriers regarding construction.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are pieces of evidence having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.