"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighborhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, it is based on the unwarranted assumption that, the traffic problem in Waymarsh is similar to the problem that was faced by Garville, rendering its main conclusion that, the traffic problem in Waymarsh can be solved, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification why a policy that worked in Garville, anearby city, would work equally well in Waymarsh. Firstly, there is no information regarding the population of both the cities. Also, the percentage of people using a vehicle to commute in Garville and in Waymarsh, could be considerably disparate. The people might be obedient in Garville, following the policy implemented, or might be greedy for the rewards that they would recieve, if they shared rides to work. However, Waymarsh public wouldn't be in need of coupons for free gas, hence, they might not follow the policy, if implemented. The writer needs to consider more number of factors that would influence people, following the policy or not. Had the argument provided information regarding, percentage of population and people using vehicle for commutation to work, in both the cities. Even then, the argument further needs to prove how the policy that worked well in Garville, would be proportionaly beneficial in Waymarsh.

Also, the argument leaves many unanswered questions. It states about a state traffic survey, that took three years ago, showing that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, comparing it with the recent situation, where the commute takes closer to 40 minutes. This leaves a lot of space for doubt. The argument neither provides information regarding the population change during those three years nor the road conditions. The population might have increased inh the span of three years, along with the roads might have degraded due to lack of maintainance, which might have resulted in an increase in the commute duration.

Finally, the argument states that . In general, the writer has failed to develop a convincing argument beacuse of lack of statistical data. Also, it is based on many assumptions that provide no strong evidence. The argument could have been strengthened if the writer provided more facts like percentage of poulation Then, the argument ends with a very optimistic conclusion, based on wishy-washy observations, that are likely to be incorrect.