Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better

serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the

next 10 years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher

percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities

inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has

increased rapidly in recent years. Thus, students will find it much more advantageous to make use

of the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective

students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument.

Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are

for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Tusk university is envisioning a future increase in its students body to approximately twice its

current number in a decade, and deems it fit to build new recreational facilities to better serve its current and future students. Their basis provided for this conclusion is the likelihood of increased pressure on existing facilities by an increased students' body and believe with the rising costs of health and recreational club enrollments in the community, students' preferences for usage of the school's facilities would certainly increase. This argument begs a lot of questions as it is founded on several assumptions.

While recreational facilities are certainly beneficial to any school, there is no evidence provided by the author stating the current usage capacity. Perhaps the students' recreational needs are not in line with the services offered by the school's facilities. Who knows if the new ones the school plans to build would even suit current and prospective students. It wouldn't be out of place to realize staff are the major beneficiaries of recreational services in the school, and hence the school might be erroneously assuming the current capacities of its facilities would be insufficient for the expected growth in its student body. If students' interest in these facilities is low due to a general

disinterest in recreation or distinct recreational preferences from the ones offered by the school,

there is no proof the situation would be any different by building more.

Of course, the saying "when the desirable is not available, the available becomes desirable", has

some elements of truth in it. However, this does not necessarily apply to every sphere of life. If

the available recreational facilities in the school is incompatible with their wants and needs, and

the costs of recreational clubs has risen rapidly in the community, it does not necessarily imply a

sudden inclination to use the schools own. Such a scenario may lead to reduced expenses for other activities to continue their recreational pursuit, or disinterest in participating in any recreational activity. Moreover, there is no proof of stagnancy or a slower rise in the costs of accessing the school's facilities. It is possible, community recreational facilities have been made more attractive, exciting with newer activities, hence the risen costs, which can even attract more students to it.

Additionally, a new recreational activity would not necessarily attract top athletic talents, unless the author can provide evidence showing otherwise. We cannot certainly decipher intentions of prospective athletic prodigies by guesswork. They might be attracted to the supportive culture of the community the school is situated in, and decided to pursue studies in a school closeby. It can also be the school's top network for nurturing exciting young talents into future stars that attracts them and not necessarily the presence of more recreational activities. Hence, if general and specific

reasons for athletes choosing Tusk university has not been established, we can remain skeptical about the author's claims about attraction of more talents by building more facilities.

Conclusively, the numerous assumptions in the author's claims makes this arguments less credible and hence, the school should reflect upon its decision to construct new recreational facilities, as this might not necessarily attract more athletic talents unless their intent for prioritising schools is established. Furthermore, current recreational usage and interest by students isn't established and unless such information is available, we cannot conclude a growing students body would necessitate construction of new facilities.