"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, the vice president of Alta Manufacturing concludes that the company should reduce the work shifts hour by an hour in order to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta. He comes to this conclusion, based on the expert’s conviction and difference between Alta Manufacturing and nearby industries work shifts hour. Though the conclusion seems strong, however, the author needs to answer these three questions to bolster the credibility of his argument.

First of all, is Alta Manufacturing similar to those Panoply industries? From the name “Panoply industries”, it looks like those industries are well equipped with suitable safety vessels or instrument which shield the workers from harm, thereby reducing the number of accident occurrence in those industries. Furthermore, it might also be possible that Alta Manufacturing is located at a higher risk environment than the other industries, which tends to expose the workers to more injuries. If any of the above scenarios proves true, then the author’s contention that the Panoply industries incurred less accident the preceding year because of a lesser work shift hour is seriously undermined.

Secondly, is the percent of on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing recurrent? Maybe the high number of on-the-job accidents last year at Alta was as a result of some faulty equipment in the industry which they have already replaced. Additionally, it is also possible that Alta Manufacturing recruited many inexperienced workers last year, and this resulted to more on-the-job accident cases. Maybe the workers this year is better. If either of the cases above occurred at Alta, then the vice president’s conclusion is strongly hampered.

Finally, is the expert’s opinion that sleep deprivation which causes fatigue, is the main factor causing the accident accurate and reliable? Perhaps there was only one fatigue related accident at Alta and those experts generalize the idea and concluded base on it. Even if the workers experienced fatigue as a result of sleep deprivation, there is no evidence that shows that a causal relationship exist between fatigue and those on-the-job accidents at Alta Manufacturing. If any of the above scenarios is true, then the author’s argument that fatigue caused those on-the-job accidents at Alta last year is weakened.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in stating that a reduction in the work shifts hour at Alta Manufacturing would reduce the number of the on-the-job accidents. However, as it stands now, the author’s avouchment rests on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinders its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to answer the three questions above.