A tv station's business manager proposes to increase time of local news and weather news in late night news for some reasons.

Although it would be beneficial for the TV to mount up the time for weather and local news, the business manager has not supported his proposal with a cogent case, thereby increasing the probability of refutation of the suggestion by the television station owners or chief managers.

First, the author claims that increasing the time of weather and local news will yield to an enhancement of viewer attraction and advertising revenues. With regard to an increase in the number of viewers, no reason has been presented. May be there are lot current watchers of the station that are interested in national happenings, so increasing the time for weather and local news might result in a dramatic reduction in the viewers' number. There is a lack of accurate and widespread statistical log that can clearly demonstrate how much viewers are in love of national news and how much other are buffs of local and weather prediction news. As long as, such a study have not been conducted, asserting a precise opinion with this regard would be impossible.

Furthermore, local businesses' abolishing of advertising contract may have been due to causes other than lowering the time for weather and local news. The main reason is that the time allocated to weather and local news has been decreased and not eliminated totally. In addition, may be, recently, another rival tv station has been instituted in the very quarter. In this case, providing better condition e.g. lower advertisement costs or improved quality of ads would be the reason for the apparent apathy of the local businesses. Thus, even returning to the previous levels of local news and weather news will not ameliorate the situation significantly.

Additionally, the business manager has cited the complaints of the viewers which seems to be another rift in his argument. May be the complaints are from a limited amount of viewers who contact the tv station for several times increasing the number of complaints. If there would be a thorough evaluation of the opinions of the viewers with regard to the change made, then the managers can decide more accurately. In addition, one year is a wide interval to assess the impact of a particular change on the viewers. May be during this year a lot of other issues palled the viewers or businesses from the tv station or may be the problem is not exclusively related to late-night news because there is not a specific evidence indicating that. May be some other programs caused the difficulties.

In conclusion, even though there are a lot of advantages to increasing the time of weather and local news in the late-night news program for the tv station, the presented case is not sufficiently reinforced to persuade a typical chief manager.