“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents that about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Dr. Karp’s argument follows a logical line of reasoning but fails to provide sufficient evidence for all the claims made in the article. Karp needs to better support the claims refuting Dr. Field’s argument, the conclusions of Tertia children being raised by their biological parents, and the sweeping generalization that observation-centered approach in studying cultures is invalid. To secure sufficient evidence of such claims, Karp needs to address methods of how evidence was collected, take precautions against and acknowledge possible bias, and more thoroughly explain why certain conclusions are made.

To successfully refute a claim such as Dr. Field’s, which suggests the children of Tertia are raised by the village rather than biological parents, Karp should supply the full argument and process in which Field came to their conclusions, otherwise an assessment of validity cannot be adequately made. Simply stating Dr. Field observed the island and came to this conclusion leaves the reader with an incomplete picture of Dr. Field’s full argument. What about Dr. Field’s observations led them to believe the children were reared by the whole village? How long did Dr. Field observe? How many of the Tertia people were observed? How did Dr. Field decipher the biological parents apart from the rest of the village? Answering these questions would provide the reader with adequate information to see how Karp came to the conclusion of Field’s invalidity.

Dr. Karp declares the children of Tertia are actually raised by their biological parents because the interviews suggest the children discuss their biological parents more. Such a claim cannot be made simply based on information of certain saturated subjects. What if the questions of the interview only asked the Tertia children about their biological parents? What did the children say about their biological parents? The substantial presence of a subject does not confirm certain claims about the subject. To support Karp’s claim, the content and methods of the interviews need to be divulged. Otherwise, the reasoning will suggest a large leap in logic.

Without a more descriptive and detailed account of the two processes of research, neither Dr. Field’s or Dr. Karp’s conclusions can be confirmed or denied, nor can a claim about the two methods be made. Dr. Karp provides no reason to believe the interview technique is any better than the observation technique, other than the antithesis nature of both findings. The best way to secure validity would be to prove the interview technique is the least biased and is more wholistic than the observation bias. For Karp’s interview to be as unbiased as possible it should not only include interviews from the children but also the biological parents.

and other villagers, the questions should not include questions that might suggest the child rearing method, and the conclusions drawn from the interviews needs to account for the cultural differences between the interviewers and interviewees. Interpretation bias exists in both observation method and interview method because the researchers are analyzing their findings. To truly claim the interview method is superior, Karp needs to address the ways such a method would acquire more valid and unbiased information.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp’s arguments are not necessarily wrong but they are not sufficiently proven to be considered correct. Providing more information on the methods of the acquired evidence, processes of how each researcher came to their conclusions, and corroboration of unbiased measures, Karp could more successfully claim Field’s arguments as false, Karp’s true, and the interview method as the ideal approach of cultural research.