Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

At first glimpse, the argument seems to be plausible. However, a closer scrutinity of the evidence reveals that a lot of singinificant queries yet to be responded to consider the argument valid and irrefutable. In this assertion, the author concludes that to know more about tertian village culture on child-rearing practices, future research should be conducted via the interview-centered method. To substantiate this, the author gives an example of a research done by Dr. Karp based on interview-centered method, which opposes the research done Dr. Field by observation-centered approach. However, before the argument properly evaluated, three evidence is need to be discussed.

First of all, the author makes a conlusion about a research done by Dr. Field by observation centered approach, where he concluded that children in the tertia village were reared by the entire village rather than their parents. But the author did not give any kinds of data by which we can deny this method and recommend other method. Also, the research is done around 20 years ago. SO, there is a clear time gaps to draw conclusion that we can not recommend it for the future research.

Secondly, the author describes the research done by Dr. Karp based on interview-centered method, where he denies the research done by Dr. Field. The author Just states that the children spent much more time with their biological parents than other adults in the village. Here, spending time is not a good reason to draw the conclusion. Also, it may be possible that they spend a lot of times with other childrens in the villages. Also, the author again did not provide any actual number to show evidence. Morever, conclusion based on a research can not be done just for only one reason. There can be a lot of things related to their culture like the environment in their schools.

Least but not last, the author did not give any comparison between this two methods to draw conclusion. He should make a chart and show all the advantages of interview centered method compared to observation-centered method. However, he can show other research too which is done in the recent times. He should compare a recent method to a method of 20 years before.

Therefore, the argument can be considered as untenable due to lack of persuasive shreds of evidence and unstated assumptions. To further fortify this argument, the author is suggested to provide the actual data to compare this two methods, some actual reasons to deny the first method, and some advantages of interview method compared to other methods. By stating these evidence, the argument can be considered as tenable and irrefutable.