"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The author concludes that the interview-centered method for finding out the actual child-rearing traditions is right than the previously performed method by Dr. Field. However, as it stands now, the conclusion of the author relies on the three unwarranted assumptions that diminish the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the children who were observed by Dr. Field twenty years earlier and those being interviewed now are still the same. Perhaps the children twenty years ago might have been all grown up now and they may have migrated to different places. The overall scenario of the place and the rearing tradition which was held many years ago might have been changed. For example, those children have grown up and given birth to their offspring. They may believe in a nuclear family and choose to care for their children more critically than before. There might be a case where the author might be interviewing those children who live with their parents in a nuclear family. If the above scenario proves true, then the author's argument does not hold water.

Second of all, the author assumes that the people interviewed were representative of the actual population of Tertia, but this might not be the case. The child-rearing traditions in the other parts of the island and Tertia might be different. The other parts of the island may be more developed and there may be a huge migration of people seeking employment or higher education. The communities might be busy on their own works for earning their living in cities areas and thus their children talk more about their biological parents, but this doesn't happen in the village of Tertia. For instance, the major proportion of people interviewed might be from the nearby developed city area of the island to the village community of Tertia. Perhaps, out of 100 people interviewed only two were the representative from the Tertia, and thereby the result might be faulty. If it is true that the total number of people interviewed were only a few (only two) from Tertia, then the author’s contention is considerably hampered.

Furthermore, the author assumes that his method is best and the Dr. Fields observation-based study was invalid. This assumption greatly relies on the scientific and empirical validity of the method applied. Perhaps the survey conducted in the parts of the Island including Tertia was not carried out scientifically owing to the incompetence of the staff involved. For example, the interview was taken in a biased way reaching out to the people who are accessible more easily based on the purposive method of sampling. Additionally, there could be a case where the examiner is not sincere and have himself manipulated the data based on the first few interviews of the people around the other parts of the island and thus, not include the real information of the child-rearing cultures prevailing in the Tertia. If the above two scenarios tend to be true, then the persuasiveness of the author’s argument is seriously weakened.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in concluding that the study made twenty years ago by Dr. F was invalid. However, as it stands now, his inference rest on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the credibility of his argument, he needs to put light on the three cases presented above.