"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

In the article the author concludes that Dr. field’s observation is not valid about the culture of Tertian village. The interview-centered method, using by his team of graduate students, is better than the observation-centered approach. While it might be true that the author and his team will able to establish a better understanding of the child-rearing method and the culture of the islands, before we can fully assess the validity of the argument, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidence.

First of all, one assumption is that the tradition of child-rearing in Tertia has changed. So, the observation of Dr. Field, that the whole village rear a child in the Tertia village, might not be invalid. The people of Tertia may be become family oriented now-a-days than they were twenty years before. The structure of the village possibly has been changed because of the individual conflicts between them. If either scenario above is true, then the author’s conclusion is significantly inaccurate.

Another possibility that would hinder the persuasiveness of the argument is that the interviewing method is not random. The team of graduate students may be interviewing a specific group of children of a specific part of the island where the children is reared only by their family. The students might be performing the method of the interview-centered method accurately. They are possibly just extrapolating the information of a small portion of the children group. If it is true that the interview-centered method was not well established, and this method was performed in a careless way, then the author’s conclusion does not hold water.

Finally, an explanation that would decrease the credibility of the argument is that the village adults has made aware the children of their biological parents. To ensure the responsibility of the children to take care of their parents at the very old age, the adults of the village might aware more about their biological parents. The children of the Tertia village might become more aware of their identity than they were twenty years ago. If that proves to be the case, then the author’s driving argument is not overly compelling.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in claiming that interview-centered method is better than observing-centered method. However, as it stands now, the claim rests on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity. If the author hopes to bolster its persuasiveness, he should provide the evidence regarding the children rearing tradition as well as the reliability of the interview-centered method.