"Two years ago the city voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for the litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza.

In the past two years, however, there has only been a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument has made a request to the editor to lift the prohibition on skateboarding which was approved two years ago. Such a prohibition was a result of complains from city dwellers about skateboard users causing litter and vandalism. The city residents concluded that litter and vandalism were the reasons that kept visitors from coming to plaza. However now the author states that in past two years, number of visitors has risen even when litter and vandalism still exists. Based on this observation, the author advocates of lifting the ban on skateboarding as according to him, visitor number is unrelated to litter and vandalism created by skateboarders. Although the author's suggestion initially sounds logical, it is inherently flawed and lacks substantive evidence.

Firstly, the claim of author that the number of visitors in Central Plaza has risen in past two years by smaller number, is baseless and unsupported by concrete evidence. Whether there was a survey for reflecting this result? Whether such increase was temporary or constantly rising? Whether the number grew significantly or by a petty amount? These questions should have been answered and strong evidence to bolster the author's recommendation should have been presented. As the author fails in laying a foundation for his claim, his suggestion proves insufficient to make a cogent case.

Furthermore, the author presumptuously compares Central Plaza with Monroe Park, a place where the visitor number, he claims is unaffected by litter and vandalism. But the question of whether these two cities are comparable in terms of problem of litter and vandalism or the number of visitors, is left unanswered. For example, the possibility that Monroe Park being a large city with only a small portion of area tarnished by litter and vandalism cannot be denied. Also it may occur that the officials of Monroe Park have put in efforts to curb these problems by creating large theme parks, gardens, beautiful sceneries where people wish to visit. The problem of vandalism and litter lying in small portion of area would not be a matter of concern to most people in such case. Thus the author should have provided reasons for comparison of Central Plaza with Monroe Park. Simply juxtaposing these two cities does not serve to be useful for creating a sound case.

Lastly, the author fails to provide any solutions to current problems of Central Plaza. In fact, his suggestion intends to completely ignore litter and vandalism and still hope for increase in number of visitors. This is a preposterous recommendation as the problems that resulted in banning of skateboard have not been curbed. It may be possible that after lifting skateboard ban in city, the residents would again vote for its proscription. The author instead should have indicated ways to curb these problems and help visitor number increase along with maintaining skateboard permission in Central Park.

Thus the author’s recommendation proves unacceptable and is insubstantial. Author should have presented more relevant argument to buttress his stand along with new measures to curtail problems of litter and vandalism.