"Two years ago the city voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for the litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza.In the past two years, however, there has

According to the author, in the last two years, many people who work in the neighborhood Central Plaza noticed a significant decrease of customers associated with a big increase of vandalism and littering in the plaza. This problems, as the argument shows, must be related with the increase of skateboard users in the area. At first glance this theory could appear reasonable but, if we took a deeper look at the situation, we can easily see how the argument flaws in many ways.

First of all the author states a strong connection between the decrease of shoppers number in the plaza and the increase of skateboard users in that same place. Even considered that there might be a sort of relation between this two factors, is more than reasonable to think that this can’t be the only cause. The decrease of customers in the area could be caused by deeper reason. It’s easy to believe, for example, that an economic crisis is a more reasonable cause that brings to that consequence. rising of the amount of skateboarding can not be the only reason of many problems in central plaza, and that is the first point where the argument leaks.

moreover the author present another problem that people noticed in central plaza, the increase in the amount of litter and vandalism. This two problems, even if they might seem somehow related, are actually to discuss briefly in separate ways. for what concerns the increase of littering there must be a more serious cause for the problem, let’s consider for example a change in the number of trash bins inside the plaza; the argument doesn’t consider this possibility that is actually a really important aspect to consider. The same consideration must be done for the vandalism problem. As anyone analyzed or noticed any changes regarding public security for example? An decrease of the presence of police and security would be a much better reason for the rise of vandalism in the area than the increase of skateboarding activities.

Last but not least the argument propose to prohibit any kind of skateboarding activities as a solution for the problems in the plaza. The argument is weaken at its very end too because there are no serious proves of the positive effects that might occur. If we want to make predictions about that, in fact, we need to create a better evaluation of the whole situation and consider many more factors that might influence the results.

In conclusion we can state that the assumption that the author made are extremely weak because there is not a obvious relation between increase of skateboard users in the area and the new problems that central plaza is facing.