Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The manager of the radio station of KICK in Medway suggests that they should broadcast more programs related to call-in advice in order to absorb more listeners given the fact that the radio station in Rockville increased the number of listeners through a similar program and a survey showed the interest of people in such these programs. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes the increase in the number of audiences two years ago was due to broadcasting more call-in advice programs. However, there is no evidence to show the exact reason for rising the number of listeners of that radio station. Maybe the quality of other programs increased, hence people were fonder of listening to the radio in comparison to the previous time, or the radio hired a DJ in who people were interested.

Another issue with the argument would be the survey that the writer refers to but does not mention how many people took part in the study reported. Maybe in the study only ten people participated and the population of Rockville was more than one million, therefore the findings of such a survey are neither reliable nor valid. Even if it is assumed that enough people took part in the study, there is still another problem with the sample. In this argument, there is no evidence to show whether the sample used was representative of the target population. Maybe all of them were psychology students or all of them were young women who are not suitable samples of all the townsmen.

The third problem with the argument would be the probable different tastes of people in Rockville and Medway. People in Rockville may like getting advice through radio programs but maybe Medway people are more interested in listening to music. In addition, the number of call-in advice programs rose two years ago and maybe at that time people were fond of these programs and now they are no more interested in such programs.

In conclusion, the manager's recommendation cannot be taken to be correct because as was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. Gaining the same result in Medway like what has happened in the radio station WCQP can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.