Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

The author claims here that radio station KICK should add more cell-in device programs in order to obtain more audiences. In support of this argument, the author reasons that since two years ago, WCQP by increasing the number of cell-in advice programs, could yield good results in widening the number of its audiences, and also, because of enhancing the people’s interests toward such programs, the KICK can repeat this success by adding cell-in device programs. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, based on which it could be evaluated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that WCQP and KICK radio stations are roughly similar. This assumption is merely made without much solid ground. For example, it is possible that the quality of each radio stations’ programs is entirely incomparable. Also, there a possibility that the popularity of KICK radio station is not the same as WCQP, and consequently, based on their popularity, their ranges of audiences are variant. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated how much every radio station has audiences and how much their programs are alike?

The author also points out that the condition of two years ago can be attributed to the current circumstance. This case, again, is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not present any information about these two different periods. To illustrate further, there may be the possibility that call-in advice programs had more audiences two years ago than the speaking time. Also, it is likely that these kinds of programs were introduced first two years ago, and so, it is crystal clear that people would welcome more at that time. Therefore, people may not like to listen such programs now. Even, there may be more similar programs on different radio stations and people prefer to listen to those radio channels. If the argument had provided evidence of the specific interests of listeners and how many radio stations perform such cell-in programs, then it would have been a lot more convincing for the reader.

Finally, the author cites that based on a survey, many listeners to radio programs are interested in such a cell-in program. However, careful investigating of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical aspects. For example, the survey may be ten pages and just two questions about such a program. Also, it is possible that the participants in this survey were chosen on biased in order to show that cell-in radio programs have many audiences. Another possibility is that maybe people answered to the survey’s questions based on their previous knowledge of WCQP’s programs, and since, they were interested in this radio station, they announced their good feelings about such cell-in programs. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that by increasing the cell-in radio programs, the KICK will be reached to the success of the WCQP.