Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Laws are the very foundation of human civilization. What separates us from other lifeforms on earth is that we are bound by a set of rules and regulations that, sometimes might restrict our actions but, mostly helps us manage the population as a civil group. Consequently, individuals should support laws of the society, provided such laws are just whereas if such laws seem unjustful and adverse for the people, it becomes the duty of the citizens to resist such laws. So, I mostly agree with the given prompt for three reasons as explained below.

To begin with, Laws are what makes us civil. It guides us, and our actions, towards the development of the society and its individuals. So, it becomes the duty of the people to follow such laws. If the laws are justified, there is no reason a person should disobey it. For example, the constitution of a country is the most important collection of laws which not only guides the nation but also delineates the rights of the citizens of the country. If the people disobey the constitution, which is justified in every means, and run amok in their carefree misdeeds then the country is certainly to be in chaos. The chaos can plummet the country into the abyss of disorganization and will most likely, affect the development of the country adversely. So, it is required that the individuals of the society obey just laws of the society.

Moreover, It is not necessarily true that laws always imply a positive result. There is possibility that the laws are unjust towards the people or they encourage negative behavior in the society. In such cases, however, the individuals must act towards resisting it. For example, it is possible that a country introduces laws that encourage people to leave the country for foreign employment but doesn’t leave much job opportunities for the local population. While it might seem beneficial for some people, for most people it is unjust because they cannot work in their own country. Instead, they have to opt for foreign employment, spending a huge amount of money. Such unjust laws should be resisted and the government must be urged to amend such laws.

However, There can be cases when a government must apply an unjust law, that might have fewer disadvantages, for the greater good in the society. For example, if the government needs to promulgate a law that reduces carbon footprints of the nation by twenty percent but also, prevents some industries from utilizing their primary source of fuel, it might be more beneficial. Although the industrialists might plead against and resist such laws, saying that it is unjust for them, the gain from such a massive reduction in carbon footprints overshadows it. In such a state, however, it is better for the individuals to support such laws even if they are unjust.

In a nutshell, it is apparent that the laws can have both, positive and negative, implications and the individuals must act critically and ascertain for themselves about which laws are just and hence, should be obeyed and which are unjust, and consequently, should be resisted. So, the laws are subjective to the effect they produce.