Some people believe that our ever-increasing use of technology significantly reduces our opportunities for human interaction. Other people believe that technology provides us with new and better ways to communicate and connect with one another.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Technology is what paves the way for development, especially in the 21st century where, rapid innovation and developments happen every day. The technological advances can have a positive effect, by making our life easier or it can even affect us negatively. I mostly support the view that technology provides us with greater advantages in communication with new and better ways, for the following reasons.

To begin with, significant development in technology has made the world smaller, in that, we can communicate with people around the world, irrelevant of the distance or location, as long as they have access to such technology. The 21st century saw the boom of technological advances such as the telephone, cell-phone and the best of all, The Internet. The internet has enabled people to connect with each other easily and efficiently. For example, people in America can contact their friends or family in London, instantly, with the help of telephone or video conferencing using the internet. Before such technologies were available, it was difficult to transfer information from one place to another, with people having to deal with late arrival of mail or telegram. Thus, technology certainly has innovated new means of communicating with people around us.

Similarly, new inventions in transportation technology have made connecting with people much easier. With the development of extremely fast trains and planes, we can move around the world quickly and be able to connect with their friends and families around the world much easily. For example, people can fly from one state to another within a few hours or even minutes. In the old days, when cars were the primary means of transportation, people would refrain from attending different events because of the long distance. But in the current scenario, it would be fair to say that technology has made everyone more reachable with new and better ways.

However, we cannot deny that technology has also affected human interaction in an adverse way. Since, most people are engaging in their mobile phone or computers, typing their messages on a social network, face to face interaction has decreased gradually. People, especially the current youth, feel more easy in messaging with each other instead of communicating in real life. This has shown to increase social anxiety in some people, making them uncomfortable in social situations. People would rather try to find satisfaction online than share their thoughts in the real world. So, technology has indeed decreased social interaction.

In conclusion, technological advances are important because it helps us humans achieve new feats but its detrimental effects should be kept in check. While technological advances certainly have helped make communication fast and simple, the negative social implications on the current youths cannot be ignored and proper plans and policies to mitigate this should be developed.