Two years ago radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call in advice programs that it broadcast since that time its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly Given WCQP 039 s rec

The argument stands on a number of unstated assumptions in its recommendation to start call-in advice programming. The argument takes support from the success of a similar initiative in Rockville, and it also cites a nationwide survey for this purpose. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if the questions relevant to these assumptions remain unanswered then the argument completely falls apart.

To begin with, the station manager assumes that by introducing call-in advice programming the public would respond similarly as in Rockville. It is unreasonable to expect that the public in Medway would respond similarly to the initiative if it is carried out. It may be the case that people in Medway don't like radio already and might even outright reject this new initiative. It may also be the case that the total number of radio listeners in Medway is significantly lower than that in Rockville. In this case, the response would not be as overwhelming to the initiative as it was in Rockville. Without making a proper inquiry into what the radio audience in Medway like and the total number of radio listeners in Medway carrying starting call-in advice programs would not produce the effects as intended.

Secondly, the station manager takes the validity of the nationwide survey for granted. He assumes it to be a truthful representation of ground realities. The argument tells us only that the results of the nationwide survey support starting such programs without getting into the details of the methodology of the survey. No info is provided regarding the batch size of the survey by the argument. It may be the case that the batch size of the survey was very small and only had a few hundred participants. Additionally, it can also be the case that the survey does not involve people from different backgrounds, and people from similar backgrounds say doctors or musicians were only involved. We can also not rule out the possibility that the results of the survey were not tampered with. It may be the case that the survey results are changed to favor a telecom operator for some ulterior motive to boost revenues by increasing the number of calls. In any of the two scenarios aforementioned the scope and validity of the survey would be left highly suspect and the station manager's assumptions do not hold. Unless we are provided with insight into the research methodology of the survey it would be wrong to take the survey as an accurate representation of the radio audience.

In conclusion, it can be said that the argument makes several unstated assumptions that seriously undermine its validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart.