Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Without a shadow of doubt, the advent of different technological communication tools and applications plays a prominent role in every individual life. Nowadays, all people including students try to benefit these tools in order to communicate with their friends for different purposes. In this regard, some people are inclined toward this opinion that using such tools can make it easier for students to work on a project whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective and believe that gathering around each other and have a face to face contact is more effective. From my vantage point, the latter’s advantages carry more weight. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two noticeable reasons.

First, one should take into account the fact that using such a communication tool like e-mail by students can waste their time. It is crystal clear that if students want to have contact with each other via e-mail, they need to pass and get many emails in order to solve a specific problem or having an argument about doing a part of a project. Therefore, it may take long hours to reach a good solution. On the other side, students can set an appointment and get together and discuss their opinions and solutions. In this way, they can reach a unit solution sooner. To shed light on this issue, when I was a master student, three of my friends and I had to work as a group on a project. We set Saturdays as our meeting session for discussing our progress. One of my friends was a member of another group, which decided to have a connection through e-mail. After one month, my friend said they could not even start the first phase of their project, While, our group was in the last phase, because they put a huge amount of their time on passing e-mails.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that some projects have practical parts, which disable students to have connections just by e-mail. It is no secret that a wide spectrum of projects contains practical works such as installing specific software and doing and interpreting some parts of the project using the software. Hence, it is crucial for students to gather around each other and investigate different parts of a project, those need practical work. As an example to illustrate, one of my friends was working within a group on a project. The project needed to be installed two software that students could interpret their experiments’ results using them. My friend had major problems in installing one of the software, but, they connected each other through e-mail and he could not understand his team members’ explanations. Finally, they failed to implement the project on due time. Had they have a face to face connection, they could have solved my friend’s problem and delivered the project on time.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that having direct contact in a group of students, not only help to save their time but also benefit them to solve their problems much sooner. Although there are many benefits in using e-mail to have connections with other team members, it has some critical disadvantages that cannot be neglected, which may conducive to failing a project.