Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to choose friends that can have fun with you than to choose friends that will help you when you need them.

Without a shadow of doubt, every individual’s friendship’s circular plays a pivotal role in many aspects of their life. In this regard, some people are inclined toward this opinion that having friends that a person could have fun with them is more important than who will help the person in need whereas others hold exactly the opposite perspective. As far as I am concerned, the latter’s advantages carry more weight. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two noticeable reasons.

First, one should take into account the fact that having friends, which help a person in need, may cause him to make some improvements. It is widely accepted that everybody has different skills and abilities, which can be completely different from others. Also, they can transfer their knowledge and information to each other. Therefore, being helpful friends around a person will enhance the chance of transferring and sharing their skills. As a result, the person’s skills and knowledge will be elevated thanks to his friends. To shed light on this issue, when I was a master student, my professor asked me and some other students including one of my friends to form a group and work on a specific project. After analyzing and allocating everybody’s task, I found that I needed to be familiar with mathematical software for doing my task. Since I had not had any experience with that software, my friend taught me how I should use it and also, provided me some excellent materials in order to become more familiar with it. Consequently, I could have done my task completely. This sample obviously shows that having helpful friends can improve a person’s abilities.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that some problems are difficult for a person to propose with their family. It is crystal clear that every individual faces some difficulties in their life and consequently, they are convenient to share with their friends. Hence, in this situation having a trustable and helpful friend is of paramount importance. As an example to illustrate this matter, one of my friends’ father was so strict about her scores. Unfortunately, he could not have studied for one of her exams and so, he failed. Since he had to pay some money in order to take the course again in the next semester, he was worried and asked one of his friends to help him. As a result, by borrowing money, he could have taken the course. Had he not had that friend he would have forced to ask his father. It may have had some negative effects on his relationship with his father.

To wrap it up all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that although everybody can enjoy having friends that can have fun with them, it is crucial for everybody to select friends who help him in need. In this way, by helping each other they can both benefit and strengthen their relationship.