Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase.

The author claims here that adding a bicycle lane rather than motorists’ lobby to Blue Highway will eliminate the problems of rush-hour traffic effectively. Stating in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. In support of this argument, the author reasons that one year ago, Green Highway added a motorists’ lobby, which led this highway to a much worse traffic condition. Also, the residents nearby Blue Highway are eager bicyclists. However, the evidence provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Green Highway and Blue Highway are entirely similar. This assumption merely is made without much solid ground. For example, there is a possibility that Green Highway’s motorists’ lane was made of low quality. So, people were reluctant to use it for the commute. Also, it is possible that the population of motorists was not much high around the Green Highway, and consequently, most of the residents preferred to use their cars. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that what is the exact condition of Green Highway in comparison with Blue Highway.

The author also points out that one year ago, adding motorists’ lobby to Green Highway did not work for decreasing traffic properly. This case, again, is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any information about the condition of the traffic in the Green Highway this year. To illustrate further, it is probable that this year, there is not any severe traffic jam in the Green Highway, and so, it could be a good reason to apply the same strategy to add motorists’ lobby to Blue Highway. Even it is possible that people were not sure about the motorists’ lane safety for the first time, and gradually they have begun to use it. If the argument had provided evidence of the main reasons for Green Highway’s circumstances and residents’ opinions about the added lane last year, then it would have been a lot more convincing for the reader.

Finally, the author cites that the residents are eager bicyclists. Therefore, adding a bicycle lane will mitigate the traffic jam around Blue Highway. However, careful investigation of the evidence reveals that it provides little reliable support for the author’s conclusion in several critical aspects. For example, maybe people only like bicycling, and so, they do not use it for the commute. Moreover, there is a possibility that their workplaces are in the distance, and it may be not very easy for them to commute all the distance by bicycle. Without providing convincing information about the rate of bicycle usage by residents, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are not substantive evidence.

In conclusion, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that adding a bicycle lane instead of a motorists’ lobby will improve the traffic condition in the Blue Highway.