The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of KNOW radio station."Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fif

The author claims here that since the KNOW radio station is not as successful as before, changing this radio station’s goal from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will improve the radio station condition. In support of this argument, the author reasons that decreasing the number of listeners and also the sales of rock-and-roll music besides prosperities of news stations are enough to justify this change. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the number of listeners of this radio station has decreased, and also most of the listeners are beyond fifty years of age. This assumption is made without much solid ground. To illustrate further, this argument does not provide any information about how such a result could obtain. It is not clear how the number of listeners is measured. Even there is no exact information about the way of measuring the age of listeners. There is a possibility that in a specific time like the schools’ exams period, this measurement has done. Therefore, young individuals were involved in their courses and consequently could not participate in this radio measurement efficiently. Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly stated that in which circumstances the results have been provided.

The author also points out that based on the area report, the amount of sales is reduced. This case, again, is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not provide any information about the specific features of the report and its conditions. It is likely that the participants, whom the report is made based on their opinions, were not interested in rock-and-roll music, and so, they had biased toward this kind of music. Also, it is not clear what is the portion of the KNOW radio station in this reduction of sales. It is possible that the reduction was only related to other similar radio stations, and the KNOW’s programs have their adherents. If the argument had provided evidence of the distribution of every radio station like KNOW in the sales’ reduction and also the exact condition about the participants in the report, then it would have been a lot more convincing for the reader.

Finally, the author cites that since neighboring news stations have reached success, it is reasonable for KNOW to switch from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news. However, careful investigating of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical aspects. For example, there may be many special conditions in those stations, including having a good relationship with higher officials, which can be beneficial for providing extra funds and supports that lead these stations to success. Also, people in these stations’ areas may be more interested in news than other programs, so changing KNOW from rock-and-roll music may not be rational. Even it is likely that by changing KNOW programs to news, this radio station programs not have the quality same as other news stations. Hence, they may lose their listeners. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the KNOW radio station will definitely reach a better condition by switching from rock-and-roll music to a 24-hour news program.