"Two years ago, the town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. The best way to improve Hopewell's economy, and generate additional tax revenues, is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

The author concludes that the best way to improve Hopewell’s economy, and generate additional tax revenue, is to build a golf course and resort similar to those in Ocean view. The author’s conclusion is based on the following assumptions. First, as a result of new municipal golf course in the town of ocean view, tourism has increased. Secondly, new business has opened there, and thirdly, Ocean View’s tax revenues have risen by 30%. However, these assumptions are fallacious because there is no evidence to prove that the same development in Ocean View can or needs to happen in Hopewell.

First, the author alludes Ocean View’s increased tourism to the newly built municipal golf course, but there is no evidence to support this assumption. It is likely that there are other tourist attractions in Ocean View, hence the increased tourism. Also, the author fails to supply information on the percentage of tourism prior to the new golf course. Moreover, it is likely that new businesses opened in the town due to a new low tax cut or incentive. Therefore, a new golf course in Hopewell is unlikely to attract new business if taxes are high.

Furthermore, the author’s assumption that a new golf course will improve Hopewell’s economy and generate additional tax revenue for Hopewell is flawed due to lack of evidence. There is no evidence that Ocean View’s 30% increase in tax revenue is a result of tourism, neither is there a concrete information on how these revenues are generated.

Finally, implementing the author’s recommendation is likely to lead to economic loss for Hopewell. The author fails to show the similarities between the town of Ocean View and Hopewell. There is lack of information on the economy of these two towns. Even if Hopewell needs to improve its economy, it is unclear to the reader if a new municipal golf course is right investment. There is no concrete evidence to show that both towns have the same resources, or that residents have the similar recreational sport interest. It is unstated if the residents of Hopewell have interest in golf. Also, the author fails to state if Hopewell is a tourist town or conducive for the type of businesses that opened in Ocean View.

In conclusion, the author’s assumption that the best way to improve Hopewell’s economy, and generate additional tax revenue, is to build a golf course and resort similar to those in Ocean view is unwarranted. Also, the is no statistics to prove that tourist are going to flood the town because of the golf course. It cannot be considered because there is no concrete evidence to support the author’s assumption.