To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement addresses true in first sight, if we consider only one part of the coin. Coin has two sides head and tail likewise, to know about the characteristics of the society, major cities and even its deep roots of it must be considered. Its customs, traditions, cultures and even its behaviour should also taken into account.

There is a lot of difference between the major cities (urban areas) and small towns (rural areas and villages). They differ in various aspects like their behavior, language and even their dressing. Societies have different codes of behavior and the characters of the codes are unexpected.

Exemplifying that, if we compare the people in villages and major cities we can easily find the difference. People in cities live in sky buildings, but they don’t even know their neighbors. They were always busy in their own lives. They don’t even have enough time to greet each other. Whereas in villages, people were affable and altruists in nature. They know everyone living in their village. They all live like a family and even celebrate festivals traditionally. Even people in major cities also celebrate festivals but only for name sake or else for fame.

In addition to that, cities are well developed and has all amenities. Culture is totally different in cities. In exemplification, different people follow different culture. In country like India, actually India is well known for its customs and traditions but in higher cities like Bangalore and Hyderabad people are too fast and habituated to night pubs and discos against to traditions but they have their own life style. But people in villages shut their doors by 10. They follow regular time. City like Mumbai is neither a major city nor a rural area. One part of it contains modern people living in major cities and on other part people live even in slums. But different people from discrete places can be found in Mumbai as they come for their own purpose either for job or for settling down with their families etc.

In succinct, different people of different places follow their own customs and tradition. There is no restriction for that everyone has their own right i.e., right to freedom. To know about the society, there is no need of comparing both the major cities and villages but to have an idea about society one should know them, how much they differ in life style. In a survey if we consider only the major cities. Then it will be a drawback and the survey is incomplete and yet to be known until we have not considered the small towns and villages.

To sum up, if at all only the major cities have considered we cannot know about the society because lot of immigrants settle in major cities and they follow their own traditions. But in villages we can still find people following the customs and traditions wholeheartedly with great interest as they give more importance to them. If we study major cities we can know how fast they were in using the technology and what all benefits and pleasures they have and if we study villages we can know how much important the rituals are and how to follow them and the relationships. So along with major cities even its deep roots must be studied.