The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requ

In the Dean's newsletter, the author claims that the university will do new requirements to graduate and add a community service requirement at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for 9 months. The university claims that this community service will help the students in real life. However, the argument is flawed in different ways. Before reaching the conclusion, some questions must be answered.

First and foremost, we need to understand the reliability of the argument. What is exactly this community service and what is for, and how did they decide this idea.

It is important to know whether the university do this for charity or for students developments to the real life. We need to be sure about this development, I mean how can we expect that wanting money from charities will improve the students development. Finding this job is so suspicious because there are already internship opportunities for students to improve and prepare theirselves to work life. If either of these scenarios has merit, then discovering a job like that does not make sense.

Secondly, students have already so many responsibilities at the university. This kind of job should be willingly, not a restriction. This job can be distract the students focus on their lectures at all. Perhaps, they would not want to do this, but for some students who willing this job can be affect them positively, but giving a restriction won't help students, only pushed them away from lectures. So the author should give some answer for these concerns. Collecting money for the school can be illegal. At this point, school seems to think only money and if the above is true, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence or facts, then it is possible to say the argument is true and reliable.