Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Have you ever heard the proverb which is "Don't give me a fish, teach me how to catch it"? In Turkey, it is taught to students at elementary school because it is important to understand which educational pathways are important in life. Personally, I believe that people should understand ideas and concepts rather than learning facts. I feel this way for 2 reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, understanding ideas and concepts makes students education life more effective, which opens a successful and enjoyable education time period of their lives. Facts are already there, it can not improve or change someone's life. In fact, if students can comprehend the ideas or concepts, they will handle rest of it and use it for other areas of their lives. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My second year of the university, one of my teacher has effected my life deeply. He was my differential equations teacher and taught us how to think, how can we use it in real life, and so on. I learned a lot of thoughts about math and affects on life. It was the most significant lecture in my life, after this class I have passed all of my classes almost A+.

Secondly, understanding deeply will help students in their professional life in the future, which is the most difficult time period of every student. Professional life expects more efforts and quick answers. There is no enough time to find the solution from books most of the time when your manager asks you something. They need to think and comprehend question and give the solution immediately if they want to be successful. For instance, when I was working at my farmer job, I was able to think quickly and my boss always thanked me after every meeting, so I got promoted that job.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that students should learn idea and concepts rather than learning facts. By this way, they can succeed in their careers and lectures.