We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we wont be paying for utility bills, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business

In this memorandum, the owner suggests that the best way to stay in business, is to reduce overhead expenses by decreasing operational hours of the coffee shop. However, the owner fails to regard other factors that could reduce costs or strategies that could sustain the business.

In order to ensure that opening late in the morning will be a good solution to maximize the business, the owner will need to monitor foot fall and traffic at the Café for a few weeks. If 6 am to 10am is rush hour, during weekdays, as everyone likes to grab coffee before work, opening at 8am will prove counter productive. The owner could analyze during what time period, during weekdays, are the most and least number of bills being generated. Opening at 8am might reduce the operational costs for those two hours but they might lose more business than that, if it proves to be the busiest period of the day. Similarly, if during evening, say after 6pm, they experience least traffic, they can close early and save more on utilities, as more electricity is required after dark. Similarly, traffic needs to be monitored during the weekends. Since the coffee shop is located in downtown, owner will need to analyze if they are getting more families during weekends. Reducing hours, once again, can be counter productive if weekends are high-grossing days.

While it is mentioned that saving on “utilities, employee wages and other operating costs” will positively impact the business, there is no direct method suggested to save on these. Instead of indirectly reducing these costs by abridging operational hours, owner could look at other data like most spending department. Analyzing factors like number of employees required or unnecessary usage of electricity like when not in use or hardly used equipment, can majorly affect utility bills. They also fail to mention costs of procuring ingredients and other materials and evaluate alternatives for the same.

The owner suggests only reduction in overhead costs as a way to stay in business. There is no discussion to improve the sales, rather. Adopting marketing strategies, improving ambience, customer experience, product quality, etc. can be a few factors that could be examined and analyzed.

The memorandum is quite ambiguous as it fails to discuss the issue profoundly. No statistics are mentioned to make an informed decision. The author seems to be focused unilaterally on operational hours. Observing other factors to reduce overhead costs or to rather increase sales, using various strategies, might be a more broadened approach to the problem.