We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of openning at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only open from 9 a.m. untill 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won't be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.

Manager argues that reducing the working hours would decrease the operation, salary and other costs, so they remain in business without eliminating jobs. Although the managers reasoning is plausible, narrowing the work hours is not reasonable. Manager does not give any estimation about the costumers will be lost under such a time change. Moreover, he does not justify his strategy to save money in order to remain in business.

First, shifting opening hour on weekdays from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m.cause them to loose more on profits than saving money from costs. It is a small, local coffee, so it is reasonable to assume that majority of the costumers are working people who go to work around 8 a.m. Opening around 8 a.m. weekdays, means that they will lose the profit they have from the business man. Therefore it is not reasonable.

Second, closing early on weekend means also lose from profits. People tend to wake up late and go out late on weekends. For example, shopping malls tend to open late and close late in order to have more costumers. So, Jupiter coffee’s target costumer profile is also the people who got out and stay outside. Closing at 4 p.m. means that the people who go to shopping and after that want to drink coffee or chill.

Third, saving money may not be the best strategy for coffee. The manager does not give reliable source for this change in times. It might be possible that investing in advertisement, may be a better option than reducing costs. They might consider giving moe promotions in the coffee or advertising their business in local newspapers or internet.

To sum up, even though narrowing working hours is the fastest way to reduce operational costs of Juniper Cafe, manager does not give enough evidence about profit loss in this scenario. Cons of opening late and closing early may overwhelm the pros. Manager should also consider the profit that he will lost from the early bird costumer. Moreover, they might consider investing more on advertisement, since additional profit may also help cafe to remain in business. Because of this, managers strategies are seem to be fallacious.