"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the president of Groove College concludes that the school should retain its all-female student body because it will enhance morale and persuade alumnae to continue their financial supports. However, while the president's assertion might hold water, it rests on some unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the president's argument. Thus the following three questions need to be answered.

First, was the survey on the students conducted scientifically? It is possible that the survey was completed with a non-representative sample of the student body. Perhaps, the survey organizers asked the students in a feminine empowerment class, thus skewing the result of the survey. It is also possible that the survey was conducted online and only the ardent supporters of the female-only education took the survey. If any of these scenarios is true, then the assertion of the president is significantly hampered.

Second, did the alumnae who voted in the survey regarding co-education contribute significant fund to the university? there is the potential that who those alumnae who supported all-female education are the least to contribute to Groove College. Perhaps, most of the funds come from a few select individuals who donate in millions and the vast majority of the graduates do not provide any funding to the school. If this is the case, then the president should conduct a survey on the alumane who contributes the most in school funding, not all the alumnae in general. That would substantially increase the credibility of the argument.

Finally, if the school remains all-female, will some of the faculties in favor of coeducation become disillusioned with the university and look for other jobs? It is possible that the current stock of professors will begin to look for other employment opportunities at other universities if the policy is not changed. If this occurs, the school might lose many of its qualified professors, suffer in the ranking, have fewer students to apply, and thus be considerably hampered in terms of both reputation and funding. If this is true that, the professors fell passionately about the topic, then ignoring their majority vote might not be in the best interest of the university.

In conclusion, while the president may have come to a sound conclusion regarding the make-up of the student body, more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the president answers the above-mentioned questions, then the argument will be easy to evaluate.