“When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all employees.”

The argument presented by the apogee company states that they are more profitable when all operations occur in one location rather than operating at multiple locations. they decide to close down their field offices and conduct operations from a single location. flaws in the argument here are :

1. company’s profits are based on where company is present.

2. how are field offices effecting the company?

The conclusion of this argument states that centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all employees. this conclusion has no clear evidence and makes flawed assumptions.

The argument assumes that the company’s profits are varying based on it’s location. The statements made are a stretch and have no substantial data to back them up. this can be illustrated with a parallelism to an ice cream company is majorly facing issue with their ice cream machines in their two new branches , but fail to recognize the core issue being the machine and shut down the new branches. Similarly, the apogee company must research all other factors that could be affecting their profits and not just the recent change in location of the company. Although, If the company provided numbers where the location of the company is affecting the employees and hence, they are unable to get to work everyday on time, or the travel between multiple locations is time consuming and redundant. Then, this statement may be more convincing.

Second the argument claims that the centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs ad helping company maintain better supervision of all employees. this again is weak and unsupported. they fail to give a clarity of how the cost cutting occurs by relocating their employees. they also fail to mention what kind of methods are going to be taking place that would provide better supervision of employees in comparison to what they have today. this lack in data make their assumption weak and unjustified. this argument could have been more explicit backed with required data.

Finally, the questions at hand are , how can you prove sudden increase in profitability by closing down already established field offices? Considering a growth in employment in the company from previous years, how will they accommodate all the employees in one location ? what methods would lead to cost cutting? what practices are better made for supervision? without convincing answers to these, the claims made are a wishful thinking rather than substantial evidence.

In conclusion, The above mentioned reasons prove why the argument is flawed. And until full knowledge is provided, there can be no strengthening to this case. It is essential to gather all the information required. without which, the statements would be open to debate.