"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

In the above statement, the author has advised that all the employees who has been laid off by the employer should opt for Delany Personnel Firm instead of Walsh Personnel Firm. Some of the employers itself hire these firms to help the employee in creating resumes and interview related skills. He has provided some statistics regarding the same for both the firms to prove his point of statement. But the data collected by the author after observations have various loopholes in it.

Firstly, the author proclaims that last year employees who have joined Delany found jobs more quickly than those who did not joined them. This information provided is incomplete. Since, the author has not mentioned that the employees who have not joined Delany have joined some other firms or not. It might be plausible that the employees where searching out for jobs themselves. Thus, it can not be stated that the number of placements offered by Delany is more than Walsh.

However, in his second statistics he collected that the services offered by Walsh’s is cheaper than offered by Delany’s. So, he collected the statistics of people preferring Walsh’s services because of the low price and same services offered as of Delany’s. Author has not provided any evidences for the statement he mentioned.

Thirdly, the author is comparing the eight year old data of both the personnel firms. He states that when a XYZ employee for using Walsh’s services it founds the job in a year. Whereas when the same employee used Delany’s service it got a job within six months. The author made the point by representing Delany’s bigger staff and larger offices but he has not compared the actual figure of staff members working in the Delany’s and Walsh’s firm. Therefore, his point can not be used as a valid statement.

Moreover, he has also collected the statistics of number of months it took to find a job using both the services. It took nine months in Walsh’s and around six months in Delany’s. Data provided is not having full information about the quality of the job, the package offered and the other benefits to the employee. Thus, it can not be considered as the valid argument to choose Delany’s over Walsh’s.

To sum up, the author has collected various information but the quality of information is what matters the most in proving any valid point. But I totally disagree with the proclaims made by him. He has gathered vague statistics which can not be considered as the whole point to justify the statements made by the author. There are various other factors which author should have covered or should have given more thought on while collecting data, to prove his point valid.