While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

In this argument, the author recommends that our high school should assign homework no more than twice a week. To justify the recommendation, the author cites some survey result conducted in two districts recently. Although this recommendation may seem convincing at first glance, scrutinizing the reason on which the author depends on debunk the recommendation.

First and foremost, the author needs to answer the question whether the results of the survey are credible to prove the usefulness of homework. The survey that author cites was conducted in statewide. It is possible that the result of nationwide survey of high school is different. Moreover, the survey was only managed by math and science teachers. this means that the survey results may not be similar when the other subjects are included. even if the daily homework of math and science is useless, everyday homework of english could be effective. Therefore, the author cannot rashly conclude the usefulness of homework.

Second, do two districts, sanlee and Merlee, have the same condition? The author assumes that the reason of the better grade of student in marlee is the less homework while the other factors are identical. Nevertheless, students’ success were due to other factors such as the better teaching methods, more learning facilities, or even high educated teachers. Before answering this possible difference between two districts, the author cannot justifiably conclude that teachers should assign less students’ homework in a week.

Lastly, another question that needs to be answered is whether the other subject teachers between sanlee and marlee agree about the result. As mentioned above, some subjects, such as english and Spanish, need repetition and daily practice. if this is the case, teachers of english in marlee may assign daily homework. Accordingly, without considering the other subjects, the author’s recommendation aiming to our all high school teachers is not plausible.

In summary, the author’s recommendation is not persuasive. In order to bolster the recommendation, the author should provide clear information that nationwide reflects of our school and all effective factors in students’ success in marlee.