Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton.

The author of this excerpt presents four facts. 1) the workers of Leeville take fewer sick tays—I assume on average—than workers of Masonton, 2) less stress-related illnesses are diagnosed in Leeville, compared to Masonton, 3) Leeville is a small town compared to Masanton, which is a large city and 4) the two cities are separated by 50 miles. The author attributes “health benefits of a the relatively relaced pace of life in Leeville” as the common cause to explain both fact 1 and 2.

While health benefits seem to be a perfectly reasonable explanation for both fact 1 and 2—healthy people don’t have to take days off, and also don’t suffer from stress-related illnesses (else they would not be healthy)—,it’s not forcibly a relaxed pace of life that’s at the cause of people are healthier in the small town of Leeville. Stress isn’t only caused by a high pace of life, but also by other factors such as critical financial situations and expectations in terms of career, both of which aren’t directly linked to pace. Large cities are often large centers of the economy, resulting in higher prices of livelihood. This can result in many people having financial problems, that people in a smaller town won’t have where overall prices are lower. Because large economical centers, it can also be expected that people with high expectations in terms of career will move there, many of which won’t live up to their own expectation, resulting in stress. To summarize: higher overall prizes and people with disappointing careers are two plausible alternative explanations that might explain why people in Mansonton are more stressed, which leads to more stress-related diagnoses and more sick days taken in said city.

Next, an alternative causal explanation for facts 1 and 2 are that people in the small town aren’t really healthier, but that they are simply less aware about stress-related—and possibly other—illnesses. I know that, for example, it is often thought that depression rates are increasing in many Western countries. But thorough scientific analysis revealed that it isn’t depression rates that are up, but that people and doctors are simply more aware of depression symptoms, leading to less depressions remaining undetected. Masonton government might have run a campaign in the past, to raise awareness about stress, encouraging people to take days off when suffering from depression, and to go see a doctor, a measure that the Leeville local government might not have taken.

Lastly, the two cities are separated by 50 miles, which is a large enough distance that air-quality could possibly be different in the two cities. I’m not sure if bad air-quality can cause stress-related illnesses, but if that’s the case, a comparatively worse air-quality in Masonton compared to Leeville could be an additional plausible alternative explanation for both fact 1 and 2.