Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument ascertains about the reason why small town of Leeville has fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton. It purported that because diagnosis of stress-related illness from Leeville is relatively much lower and more relaxed pace of life than Masonton. It seems logically convincing at first glance, but in detail, it has many types of unsubstantiated explanation that affect the argument negatively. There can have various types of alternative explanation according to this argument.

First of all, the alternative explanation is that workers in small town of Leeville has less proportion of work than the worker from large city of Masonton. Take for instance, worker from Leeville has 6 to 9 hours for 5days whereas worker from Masonton has 11 to 12 hours for 6 days with extra work at weekend. Ever since those work time is very different and it will eventually affect worker’s healthy.

Secondly, the other explanation of this argument can be that worker psychological mind. Since there is evidence that worker from small town has relatively relaxed pace life than worker from large city, company from two different region probably have different atmosphere. While company from Leeville gives free-atmosphere, which workers can have 10 minutes break in any time, company from Masonton is more controlled atmosphere; indeed, worker can’t even go man’s room and lady’s room.

Furthermore, another alternative explanation can be environmental situation between Leeville and Masonton. The reason why worker from Masonton are sick easily is because there are many cars and factories in that city, which causes pollution and finally affect most of workers in Masonton. On the other hand, small town of Leeville has beautiful weather, such as sun is glowing, wind is breezing, and rain can be portable.

In conclusion, one of these three alternative explanation will help for this argument, which was unsubstantiated and non-logically sound, then it will help to understand what the argument will support, it will truly understandable toward the explanation.