Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

Archaeological surveys are important as it helps us understand how the evolution of species took place, discover the events that took place that were responsible for the emergence of civilization as well as decimation. They also uncover the evolution of culture and bring about the historical importance of a place which might become a heritage. On top of these, such sites are essentially a “Non-renewable” resource of knowledge, which will guide us in the future. Hence accurately understanding the past is significant.

The conclusion that the Palean baskets are not unique to Paleans are based on many assumptions which needs to be fact checked. The mere presence of a river cannot be the basis of this.

It is likely that the river was broadened and deepened by a natural historical event which took place separating Palea and Lithos. Ancient villages almost always spring near rivers and it is likely that Palea and Lithos were the same village indeed. Due to a natural event, the river flooded, and it was responsible for people to abandon the village. Hence careful survey needs to be carried out to eliminate the possibility that Palea and Lithos were different villages to start with.

Another assumption considered is that Paleans did not know swimming. This assumption needs to be ruled out because a broad and deep river does not qualify the river as a torrent. The river might just be a sloth, enabling the Paleans to cross it without much struggle.

The archaeologists should also find whether both the villages were trading goods. The remains of goods that the archaeologists consider were Lithos specific should be searched in Palea to establish a fact whether goods were exchanged between the village. This finding, irrespective to other assumption, will conform that the baskets found were unique to Palea and will also explain why they were found at Lithos.

Although modern technology is highly effective for which it is made for, there are still cases when it took people decades to find enormous construction even when they knew what they were looking for. For example it took nearly 70 years to uncover the Titanic, a gigantic structure when compared to small boats built in prehistoric times. Hence a very careful examination of the site needs to be done, with an equal efforts to investigate the river basin for remains of boats. The fact that we do not know what the boats might look like, and that the village is a prehistoric site only adds to the efforts to conclude that paleans were incapable to constructing of boats to cross the river.

In conclusion, the assumption on which the conclusion that the baskets found were not unique to Palea is riddled with holes. Any of these assumptions if proved otherwise will change the fact. Hence although it is possible for two different community to develop the same type of basket, trying to prove them otherwise will uncover many more crucial information such as Paleans had developed boats much before any other civilization, or uncover a natural event that formed Brim river, establishment of trade.