"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numb

There are a few questions that needs to be answered before concluding that skateboarding is responsible for decline of shoppers in plaza. A major factor that needs to be looked into should be the creation of a positive feedback loop. As people withdraw from this plaza, skateboarders might have found an empty place and started using it. As the people see these skateboarders, the environment created is not particularly shopping friendly because the chance of accidents will dramatically increase. So less number of shoppers will turn up every day. This will attract further more skateboarders and the place becomes emptier by the day, calling more skateboarders. In this case only banning skateboarding will not help recover plaza to its worn down prestige, the problem that caused the decreased the people in plaza too needs to be tackled.

The first and foremost question to be answered should be what other reasons can be responsible for decline in sale in that particular plaza. There can be ample of possibilities such as opening of new plaza nearby that sold fresh products. As fashion goes by like the wind, if shop keepers are not up to date, people will get bored of the similar styles of clothes. This gives motive to people to try a change.

Another possible reason for people for shift from this plaza can be the cleanliness of that plaza. If the plaza has eateries and people do not maintain basic hygiene, like throwing unfinished food, it ought to attract rodents and roaches. As their population increases, it will draw people away from the plaza. This is also the likely cause of the litter problem. If the skateboarders were responsible for such uncivilized activity, then definitely banning them in plaza should help.

An increase in vandalism cannot be directly associated with skateboarders. It might be due to rivalry from other plaza or due to increase in vandalism in the city itself. Vandalism can be linked to decrease in shoppers as this would give way to looting the people too. This fear will drive people to other alternatives, which are much safer than the Centre Plaza. If the vandalism is caused by the skateboarders, then banning them will increase the safety and confidence in people to visit the plaza again.

Hence, in conclusion if the following scenario holds true, that skateboarders caused vandalism and littered the place, which caused people to shift from the centre plaza to other alternatives, then banning them to skateboard should be correct solution.