Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author believes that Palean baskets were not originally made by Palean people. However, the evidence offered by the author is insufficient.

To begin with, we need more information about the geography and climate in the area at the time to address the likelihood of different scenarios. While the memo states that the baskets could only be carried by boats that have not been found. However, more information about the river between the two villages is needed. For instance, if the river was narrow and shallow, people lived in Lithos and Palean could trade the baskets at that time. What's more, maybe the weather was cold at the time and the river was frozen during the winter. People from the two villages could easily walk across the river.

We also need to know the material and technologies used by Palean and Lithoian people for building the boats. The author claims that there was no Palean boats have been found, so they could not have the possibility to cross the river. Still, what if people from two villages used the special material to build the boats? For example, Maybe they had built the boats but the material they used could not withstand the time and left no traces for archaeologists to discover. The absence of traces of boats does not imply no boats were available then. More information regarding these issues is needed.

Another important piece of evidence we need is about the material of the baskets. Specifically, we have to know whether the baskets could float in the water. It is possible that some of the baskets had been dumped by Palean people to the river and carried by the water to the other land of the river and then picked up by the Lithoian people.

To strengthen the argument, the author would have to provide more information as above mentioned.