Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Recently, some archaeologists argued that palean baskets were also made by people from

lithos, which is contrary to the former conclusion, which believed that such baskets were uniquely palean. And this argument was based on their new founding; proving the existence of palean baskets in lithos, given that there was no way for the immigration of palean to lithos. but the evidence they provided to prove no possibility of transforming the baskets to lithos was untenable.

Firstly, they claim the river between two villages is a barrier, but when this river occurred and how wide and deep it was at that time were still questionable. there is no doubt that the topography changes dramatically through the crustal movement as time goes on, so even though the river exists now and can only be crossed by boat, few facts have shown that such situations were the same at the ancient time. it is totally possible the river occurred recently and in the ancient times people in the palean could cross this area without any problem just by riding or walking, or that the river was there but very easy to cross by swimming.

Secondly, even though the river existed and people could only take boats to across it, their conclusion is still not receivable for me, since they sloppily asserted that

people could not take boats to lithos on the account of no boats have found now. maybe

at that time, boats were made by woods, but because of the fugitiveness of such material, all of them were eroded to dust and not recognizable now. Despite the boats, people in palean may have other methods to go to lithos, such as bridges and circuitous roads leading to lithos. maybe these tools that existed at that time disappeared because of the erosion by wind and rain.

Thirdly, the author assumed that only the palean residents themselves could introduce their basket to lithos, which lack the consideration of other means. it is possible that at that time merchants from other areas came here on the purpose of trade, and they bought their baskets and sold them in other villages including Lioths.

In summary, the conclusion needs more supporting information to be convincing. More local surveys on the immigration should be conducted to offer precise evidence that the immigration from palean to lithos in ancient times did not happen. also, the ancient photography should be analyzed to strengthen the evidence provided in this argument. More importantly, the people outside these two villages should take this into consideration. only by such thorough observation can they truly contradict the former option and convince people that the palean baskets were not only made by paleans.