Write a response to the following argument.

The following appeared in a memo from the chairperson of the school board in the town of Saluda. “For the past five years, Mr. Charles Schade has been the music director at Steel City High School, and during that time the school band from Steel City High has won three regional band competitions. In addition, the quality of the music rehearsal facilities and musical instruments at Steel City High has improved markedly over the past five years. Because of such successes at Steel City High, the Saluda school board should hire Mr. Shade to plan and direct the general music education programs for the entire Saluda school system.”

The conclusion arrived at stating that Mr Shade should plan and direct the general music education program for the entire school, which is based on the assumption that the Music Director of Steel City high school is the sole reason behind the success of the school band during regional band competitions is highly flawed for three reasons.

Firstly, the other competitors in the regional game may have had various shortcomings that has been capitalised on by Mr Steel. For example, Their best players might have been injure and out of the band for the period of 3 years, that Steel City has been championing the competition. Hence, it is possible that in the 4th year, the best players of the competitors and back and better. This will mean a more challenging competition for the school.

Secondly, the success may be attributed to the new facilities and musical instruments that was added to the schools collection. This would have enabled the participants to practice more, thereby perfecting their skills. In the process they will be better equipped and positioned to tackle their competitors.

Thirdly, the success may be attributed to the set of players that have been maintained on the team. The players may have been the same for over 3 years hence has grown some level of confidence in these games and expertise. Unlike they were newbies who have to be trained and trained to get to a certain level and be prepared mentally and physically for the competition.

As a result of the above point, if the speaker can confirm that Mr Steel was responsible for the new facilities, then maybe we can strongly recommend him to lead the entire Saluda School