1. As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author states that humans will have hard time thinking and solving problems by themselves due to the advent of technology. In some sense, it surely is true. However, as technology develops, other problems also arises as well. This is when the already-developed technologies have to step aside and humans have to make ways to remove the problem and devise new technologies. Therefore, the advent of technology will not let humans' independent thinking ability to deteriorate.

The relentless technology being introduced in our world has been a big help to human beings. For example, the technology that helped us in our daily lives is the calculator and the internet. From the youngsters to the old, calculator is an easy equipment that anyone could easily use. Kids in the kindergarten and elementary school, when they have a Math homework, they tend to use calculators instead of utilizing their thinking skills. Also, people in the working field also utilizes the calculators to check the accounting of their company or calculating the exact price they have to pay in the market, and etc. In addition, although the internet allowed us to save time looking for certain information, it has side effects. In the past, we tend to utilize the encyclopedia. As we go over the encyclopedia, we had a chance to look at other knowledge as well and broaden our knowledge. Therefore, we could say that technology deteriorated our thinking skills in some ways.

However, the advent and development of technology does not solely deteriorates human's ability to think. We can easily see that new equipments are introduced in the market day by day, with advanced function. As technology opens humans' opportunities to a whole new world, there arises new problems to solve. As stated above, for instance, the internet allowed us to save time. This makes humans to utilize more time thinking by themselves and to use time efficiently. With more time for humans, we deal with many problems due to the development of technology. For example, the cloning in the Biology industry has made a sensation in our world from the past years. However, this caused so many problems such as two headed cows. Then it is the scientists' job to solve the problem and make a perfect cloning technology. Also, not only in the Science field, cloning has also made a sociological sensation in ethical ways, which leads to full of debate, making people to think over and over again regarding cloning issues. Moreover, although we have "super computers" to forecast the weather exactly, it is full of mistakes. It predicted that tomorrow we will have no rain, but we easily face our way home without an umbrella with a sudden rain that the computer could not predict. So, although the technology has developed consistently, our world is never perfect. Therefore, technology will not deteriorate humans' thinking skills.

Therefore, in a short term, we could feel that the advent of technology has made our lives easier and at the same time make humans' thinking ability to go down. However, when we see in a more longer term, the technology, which made our lives easier at the immediate moment, binds ourselves into a more complicated technological issues. In conclusion, the technologies developed will cause problems and eventually require human's comprehensive knowledge and thinking skills.