1. Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author claims that students should be obligated by universities to have an expanded syllabus with various and irrelevant courses to the students' major field. This is the claim with which I partially do not concur. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to my standpoint, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The first crucial point which should be high lightened is the burden of a lesson which should be completed by each student during his education in the university. In fact, each program possesses various requirements, which fulfillment is demanded in graduation; however, each program such as the bachelor, master, or Ph.D. requires a fixed number of credits for the graduation. For instance, in the bachelor program, each pupil should fulfill 140 credits during the four years, by consideration of approximate three credits for each course, that student has to pass the 47 courses during the four years. This can be defined as the 12 courses for each year, which is a heavy schedule. Or in master or Ph.D. program; meanwhile, the required credits are not as much as the bachelor program, the publication of thesis and dissertation is demanded, which requires the full concentration from students to end with the knowledgeable and concrete ending. Besides, since the purpose of education is gaining the occupation, not only the passing the courses is important, the score and GPA are vital during the employment process. Consequently, universities must dilute the programs and make them more sophisticated and related to the main major.

Another equally striking reason which should be considered here is the demand for specialties in the vocations. Indeed, while in the past, an individual with the average level of understanding of a major was hired, and he optioned the experiences in the pragmatic base of his work; in the modern society, on the other hand, the specialties over the issue is important. A lucid example which shed the spotlight on the issue is teachers' educational levels in the past and current. Two decades ago, a teacher with the B.S. of mathematics taught the algebra, geometry, and counting simultaneously; conversely, nowadays, schools for each of mentioned categories employed a sophisticated teacher who has at least master degree in the relevant field. This example is also verified with a noteworthy, intelligent study conducted in Iran, according to this survey, the chance of people, whose education is narrowed down to the specific field, is approximately sixty-five percent higher for finding the job. This study and example explicitly illustrate the importance of specialties in education.

However, abovementioned factors should not be overgeneralized to whole majors; since some courses are interdisciplinary and interconnecting different major fields. In another word, modern science is according to the combination of various science and dose not define solely according to pure knowledge. For example, the field of biophysics is based on physics and biology, in this scenario, the education plant should evenly allocate for both sides. In a case which student merely focus on physics or biology, his knowledge will be insufficient for graduation from this field. Therefore, it is important to consciously consider the entire relevant fields and cover all of them during education in the university.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned facts depict the importance of focusing on the relevant subject for graduation from the universities. Since society requires more sophisticated experts and schedule for graduation is too heavy to fulfill different programs concurrently.