2. The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their Contemporaries.

Greatness is the position one takes in humanity. In essence, greatness of individuals is not necessarily something that people decide about it; Where one makes a contribution for other human beings, the one has shown his/her greatness no matter others have seen him/her or not. But even If there are people who should decide about the greatness of individuals, there are not “only” those who are living after individuals who decide about ones’ outstanding level.

To begin with, there is no requirement of peoples’ decision for one to have greatness or not. Many are those who are unknown by masses and still are among the most valued persons ever came into the world. They stand top in humanity because of the contribution they have made for human beings. For instance, consider many medicine doctors martyrs of wars who were serving soldiers to save them. Many have been died in defending their countries from atrocious attacks of foreigners without remaining any trace of them. There are high valued people who fought against ignorance and were doomed to be killed by being recognized as heretics and they are forever unknown. Therefore, individuals gain the highest positions in humanity without the decision of others because of their contributions.

Even if our intention of greatness of people includes those who are recognized and are not unknown, there is no necessity that future generations decide about the greatness of individuals. When one makes a valued contribution, and such contribution is not far from understanding, even the most common contemporaries can recognize the magnitude standing of that individual properly. Consider Fleming for instance. Having discovered the antibiotic characteristics of a certain fungi, he cured many suffering patients. His outstanding level immediately established among human beings because of the priceless contribution he made for humans. Hence, sometimes individuals can prove their greatness and it is averred both by their contemporaries and future generations.

Nevertheless, greatness of people can be decided better in a crucible of time because more information is provided with the time goes by. For example, a founder of an industry who has provided jobs for local citizens of a city might be regarded as a great founder. When the time goes by, with the pollution and the diseases the industry brings on the local citizens they no more recognize that person as a high-valued individual because overall of his work is shown to be negative. Hence, time can give people better resolution to decide on the standing of individuals.

In short, there is no necessity to resort to the others’ decision in determining ones’ greatness. People who make contributions for human beings are categorized as great ones, regarding the magnitude of their contribution. In cases that others should decide about the greatness of ones, although with the time passing better they can be better judged, but contemporaries also can determine that one is great and future generations aver that.