In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Media in this age is based on content that can catch the public's eye. Keeping a tab on the number of 'likes' on their social media posts, a great many news outlets have started putting out clickbait stories that help them attract a larger number of subscribers and readers, keeping them and their advertisers happy. This kind of 'junk journalism' has become the norm, with even the prominent media outlets becoming prey to the phenomenon. Sensational stories about famous personalities, no matter how intrusive, are flashed on our television screens and make the headlines in our national newspapers, almost as if the whole nation is gossiping about the personal details of that person collectively. Prying into personal details of these famous people's lives has become the standard, and it is almost impossible for any living man and woman to escape this kind of scrutiny at the hands of news channels, magazines and newspapers. Therefore, I strongly agree with the author's statement that in today's age of intensive media coverage, it has become impossible for any living man and woman to emerge an unbruised hero.

Major media outlets today are in the control of powerful businesses, who often have their own political and social agendas that they wish to project on the public. This has become an accepted fact that one cannot shy away from. As much as we would want media houses to be havens for independent and factual journalism, the reality presents a much grim picture. Take the example of former US president Barrack Obama. Come election time, many right wing news channels in the US went after him and accused him of not being a natural born citizen of the country. He was called a Muslim, and an illegal citizen just to sway voters and feed them wrong information. The left-wing media outlets are no better, as they too employ such tactics to forward their own idealogical agendas. In such a case, it becomes impossible for a man or a woman, even though he or she might be a widely liked and respected leader, to maintain a clean reputation of being a hero in the minds of everyone. False claims and accusations by the opposite side are perpetuated, and the person's reputation is dented inevitably in the minds of impressionable and naive people. Even if such claims are right, sometimes the so-called 'news' coverage on a personality's personal life puts them on a moral pedestal wherein if the public dsiagrees with the person's choices, he or she faces the brunt of their disapproval.

Media outlets are also malleable in terms of adapting quickly to the direction where the wind is blowing. To increase their viewership and subscriptions, they often go ahead with what the popular public opinion is instead of doing a just investigation before presenting views based on facts. A widely-respected liberal author might suddenly become anti-national if his views do not align well with those of the majority of the population. Such misconstrued pictures of academics, authors and scientists are often painted by media outlets to bolster the public's view, wherein their duty simply becomes to feed their already biased minds.

It becomes hard in today's day and age to find a man or a woman that has been unequivocally hailed as a hero by all. Driven personal interests and the interests of those who control them, media outlets with opposing views, make it a mission to taint a person's achievements by hook or by crook. I believe it is upon the audience and the society to discern right from wrong, and become smarter and more perceptive to media coverage around them.