An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition

it is good to know about the doctor before hand before getting the treatment. The recommendation says that an ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patients. I partially agree with this recommendation as this have more adverse affects than positive outcomes.

First, not everyone is enough educated in the feild of medicine to estimate the doctor's efficiency by merely looking into the record of trating similarly afflicted patients. it should be noted that every patient is different, every disease is different in terms of severity. doctors often treat every person in a unique manner based on the intensity and type of the disease or ailment. For example, by giving access to the previous records, one might get worried if the disease is not treated in the similar fashion, though the disease is similar. this might have adverse affects on the patients, as the patients do not completely believe in the the doctor's efficacy.

Second, by having access to the earlier records, the patients' mental state will be disturbed. To illustrate, the patient's the condition might be less severe than the earlier patients'. So, by having access to the earlier records, the patient might think that the doctor does unnecessary treatment for minute ailments for the sake of money. it is better to have the reviews and ratings on the doctors by the treated patients, instead of having complete access to the records.

Finally, there are some positive side of this recommendation. By just having access the success rate of the doctor can be estimated. this has high chances of having placebo effect on the patients, in case of a successful doctor. Since, the patient think the doctor can cure any ailment that he treats. Also having the records open, the under performing doctors can be put in check and can limit them from treating cases with more intensity.

In conclusion, it is good to have some presumption about the doctor before availing the treatment from him for the ailments. The given recomendation should be moderated. having complete access of the previous records is not a good recommendation, instead as said above, having the ratings and reviews of the earlier treated patients should be access. Hence, I partially agree with the author's recommendation. it can be implemented with some temperation.