An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor's record of treating similarly afflicted patient.Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat the medical condition.

The client knows best. this platitude is often repeated but, as any customer servant can verify, is even more often wrong. Of course, this phrase is not intended to mean that the client would know more than the professional--which would be simply absurd considering how much more experience the latter has--but that the most important thing in any business is to have a satisfied, happy client--even if this means a client with a suboptimal product or service. it is in this exact same spirit that this policy that patients should be able to evaluate their doctors past success, as it would be an architects or artists portfolio, is proposed. however, healthcare is a unique type of endeavour, and the driving motifs for healthcare are not the same as the ones in, say, a restaurant. In the same way that the most important aspect of building is that the constructs stands irrespectively of the weather, the most important aspect of healthcare is that the patient is cured. health care is about improving the lives of people, and this is the metric we should be using: the best policy is the one that improves the lives of people the most. By passing this policy, I argue that this simple principle would be broken, and that the quality of our health care system would be significantly compromised.

Firstly, the outcome of a patient is not the same as the quality of the treatment. In fact, they might not even be that correlated. For example, in cancer treatments, individual factors such as the motivation of the patient to live and factors of chance such as how quickly the sickness spreads and how quickly the cancer was recognized and unfortunate factors such as how good medicine the patient can afford, have a much larger impact than the quality of the doctors treatment. it is also of human nature, particularly from the perspective of a layman, that the outcomes will be viewed with much greater importance than the treatment itself; many nuances might be overlooked or even misunderstood because of ignorance of the subject matter. even if a person would understand these factors, it is extremely hard to document the quality of the treatment, such as whether the doctor was able to go through the correct procedures and whether the doctor was able to communicate the gravity of the situation without demoralizing the patient. it would thus be unfair to have the doctor responsible for the outcome to which they have, in the end, so little affect, just as it would be unfair to blame a president for stock market plummets.

More importantly, not only would it be unfair, but would serve as a bad incentive to the doctors. The immediate consequence of such a policy would be that many doctors would become selective with their patients, choosing to treat only those that they are certain can survive and get recuperate. this change would be devastating for the most vulnerable group, namely the sickest patients. this group would systematically be avoided by many doctors in an attempt to boost their ‘portfolios’, this new naive and foolish certificate of quality, while they should actually be the ones to receive the most urgent treatment. doctors are decision makers, and the quality of decisions should be evaluated as if at the time the decision was made, that is, using the same information available at that time, not after the facts have happened. we should not impose to the doctors policies that forces them to optimize the outcomes; instead, we should incentivise them to maximize well-being and health of the patients--particularly the most sick.

Of course, one could argue that this will ensure better treatment for the patients since they can monitor the quality of the doctors. this argument has already been addressed by the previous points, but of course, it does resonate with our intuitions that it would hold doctors liable for their actions. Yes, doctors, as any other professionals, should be held accountable. however, the patients are not the best adjudicators for the quality of the treatment or the success of the doctor. In fact, as argued previously, patients might be rather bad at this. instead, the institutions themselves, such as hospitals or doctors unions, should evaluate the performance of the doctors and ensure that everyone can expect quality treatment when in need. these institutions and professionals have the proper information and ability to consider all the nuances of the situations and are thus more appropriate for the task than any patient would be. this solution avoids previously mentioned problems while also attaining the benefits of the proposed motion, making it a credible and preferable alternative.

To conclude, by first instinct we might be inclined to give all the information to the patients so they can make the most informed choice. however, when analysing the proposal deeper, many problems arise, outweighing any possible benefit from opening this information to the wider public. most notably, we would be making a disservice to the sickest and thus most vulnerable by incentivising doctors to avoid such patients to boost their “client portfolio”--with the negative connotation intended. it is thus best to keep this information private and, if more liability is required, to ensure the proper institutions control the quality of the doctors instead of the general public.