The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Democracy, equal rights and freedom are the cornerstones of a well functioning society. If people are not opressed but instead are treated equally and their voices are heard, arguably the society has succeeded in its tasks. hence when evaluating the effect of questioning authorities, we must attempt to understand how it affects these key questions.

The immidiate effect of questioning authorities is that it becomes harder for the government to maintain order and to pass their will. In normal circumstances this can seem as a negative outcome, but a moment of thought reveals some important positive aspects as well. For instance, consider an opressive regime or a government that does not have it's citizens needs in first place. Clearly, in such situations not accepting everything by its face value is good, since it provides an additional mechanism of checks and balances for the authorities. On the other hand, excessive suspicion causes unecessary friction and dificulties for the authorities. Therefore, the effect of questioning authorities depends greatly on the context.

Not only does distrust maintain some checks and balances, but high amounts of distrust might cause residents to turn to a charismatic person, causing populism and strong authoritative figures who have excessive power in their hands, infringing on the equality of the people. consider for instance Benjamin natanyahu, Israels prime minister. Gaining an unprecendented support of the citizens of Isreal, natanyahu has exploited his power to manipulate the media and to bend the law to his will. Furthermore, populist leaders can with time turn a democratic state into an opressive regime suited to cater their needs.

when weighting the positive and negative effects of questioning authority, even though a difficult task, it seems that believing in ones state has less risks and harms than benefits. hence, I believe that distrust does not pay off, and in the long run the society will be better with trust to authority.